Student Learning Assessment


Welcome to the Student Learning Outcomes Assessment web site at Atlantic Cape Community College. Attention to assessment of student learning and outcomes has become a mainstay and focus in higher education in the last twenty years. Accrediting agencies require that our school, like others, develop rigorous requirements for measuring student learning outcomes. Our learning centered, outcome-oriented focus of the information from class, course, program, and institution-wide assessment and inquiry has a central purpose: to enhance student learning, development and performance of abilities. We value our students and the quality of their learning.  

Levels of Assessment

When students can see connections among their learning experiences, their learning is deeper and more lasting.
Suskie (2009)
At every level in Atlantic Cape Community College, student learning outcomes and  many types of assessment are addressed. Class level goals are expectations of what students are expected to do or learn by the end of the class. These goals are very specific and reflective of the most basic level of student assessment. Course level goals are the expectations of a course over a period of time (i.e. semester, year), and the learning outcomes that are embedded at the course level and across the curriculum. The program goals are the expectations of learning for a student graduating from a certificate program or non-degree program. Certificate programs do not directly result in a degree. Course and program level goals are building blocks and are vertically and laterally integrated at the institutional level. These goals are incorporated in the Institutional Strategic Plan. Together, the staff, faculty and administration of Atlantic Cape Community College actively plan to improve student learning and assessment through coordinated collaboration.
Levels Assessment chart


Assessment Toolkit

Atlantic Cape Institutional Assessment Instruments


Bloom's Taxonomy for Performance Objectives

In 1956, Benjamin Bloom developed a classification system of intellectual behavior in learning. pen on notebook  This taxonomy contained the psychomotor, cognitive and affective domains. Within the cognitive domain, Bloom identified six levels of taxonomy: comprehension, knowledge, evaluation, synthesis, application, and analysis. These domains are useful in developing critical thinking skills and creating rubrics as well as planning student learning outcomes and assessment.

  • Knowledge - (Least complex) Student exhibits previously learned material; knowledge of major ideas.
  • Comprehension - Student demonstrates understanding of facts and ideas; translating knowledge into new context.
  • Application - Solving problems by acquiring applied knowledge, facts and techniques.
  • Analysis - Examining or breaking information into parts, determining causes or identifying motives; recognizing hidden meanings.
  • Synthesis - Using old ideas to create new ones; relating knowledge from several areas.
  • Evaluation - (Higher order thinking) Making judgments based on criteria and standards.
Anderson & Krathwohl (2001) have redefined the six levels of Bloom's taxonomy. The bold identifies the new level while the old labels are in parenthesis. See: Writing Measurable Learning Objectives
  • Remembering (Knowledge)
  • Understanding (Comprehension)
  • Applying (Application)
  • Analyzing (Analysis
  • Evaluating (Synthesis)
  • Creating (Evaluating)

Assessment Research


Assessment News Articles

Other Assessment Resources