Sign Language Interpreter - Job Opportunities at Atlantic Cape

The college requires the services of sign language interpreters to interpret/transliterate spoken language using American Sign Language, and vice versa, to facilitate communication between hearing and deaf/hard of hearing individuals; and perform related work as required. Bachelor's degree with 1-5 years experience - $55 per hour Bachelor's degree with 6-10 years experience - $62 per hour Bachelor's degree with 11+ years experience - $75 per hour

Sign Language Interpreter

Posted: 06-14-2017
Campus: No Preference
Salary: See note above
Duties: Interpret lectures, discussions, announcements, conversations, meetings, events, and other spoken word situations using manual sign system appropriate for the language and the cultural background of deaf/hard of hearing students and staff.

Accurately interpret deaf/hard of hearing students’ signs into fluent English for other students, faculty, and college staff.

Work with faculty and college departments to gain understanding of relevant concepts to better facilitate translation for deaf/hard of hearing students.

Provide information and orientation to deaf/hard of hearing students in emergency situations.

May utilize technologies to transcribe speech to text in classroom and other settings.
Minimum Requirements:Completion of an accredited interpreter training program, or equivalent. Associate’s/Bachelor’s degree in American Sign Language preferred.
Three years’ experience as a sign language interpreter. Work experience in a post-secondary educational setting preferred.

Certification by Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf preferred.

Candidates must send a letter and resume to the Human Resources Specialist, Atlantic Cape Community College, 5100 Black Horse Pike, Mays Landing, NJ 08330. Email to jobopps@atlantic.edu Deadline: 07-06-2017.

As a "New Jersey First Act" Employer, Atlantic Cape Community College requires new employees who live out of state to establish a primary residence in New Jersey within one year unless an exemption applies. Learn more.